Today I Don’t Feel Like Doin’ Aaaaanything

We all have those days… some people have them more often then other people. But more so, I think, there are times in life when those days just come to us more frequently than other times.

Slightly postulated data representative of "gut feeling" reality

Slightly postulated data representative of “gut feeling” reality

I remember working for Panera back in the day – love that restaurant, but the hours there as an employee crept past so painfully slow… at the end of a shift, even if it was just a 4 or 6 hour shift, I just didn’t feel like doing anything. Ohhh and don’t even get me started on the two months in which I was putting in time at a truck assembly plant – sheeesh! Talk about lack of energy at the end of the day (which coincidentally was when mine started!)

Right about now in my life, I think such days are coming in at a pretty good rate. Not too often really… Just Mondays …   Wednesdays …      Friday, Saturday, and Sunday (the days in which I have at least ONE more day to get my work done). 5/7 hey that’s not bad, could be worse!

Snow days... they don't help!!!!

Snow days… they don’t help!!!!

Today it’s not so much that I don’t want to do anything – it’s just that I want to STOP and give THANKS to the Lord for all of his MARVELOUS blessings! And what better day than to do so today? Ok, and I want to procrastinate a bit on doing homework 🙂

Certainly I want to give thanks! Indeed, I recognize that this is coming after laying down something of a complaint about the “times” in my life when things were so “draining.” To clarify, my intentions weren’t to complain; rather, I was simply attempting to sympathize with all those people out there who get home at the end of their day’s work and say to themselves “WOW, I just don’t feel like doing anything.” I totally understand.

But…

Do you ever think in the same breath, “ok, you’ve had a tough day, it’s ‘ME’ time.” hhhhaaaayyyep.

"I say Wilson, do bring me my plate of rrrroyal cinnamon rrrroles!"

“I say Wilson, do bring me my plate of rrrroyal cinnamon rrrroles!”

Now don’t get me wrong, setting aside time at the end of the day to take care of yourself is a splendid thing to do. However, so often what I think I want in this “me” time to equal sitting on facebook downing a giant bowl of my ice cream pick-of-the-week (I LOVE ICE CREAM!!!) and chocolate (I LOVE CHOCOLATE!!!!), and you can see how this doesn’t really fit into the “taking care of” anyone category.

So here’s what I find works in moments like this: I instead stop to think for a minute when I walk through that door – or even a bit before crossing the apartment threshold, I often rethink the “me time.” and become more interested in taking care of me and my slightly frazzled state, and hope to try to pull myself back together to try to be productive again. Some people are coining this sort of thing as “mindfulness” which makes me feel like my mom is standing behind me, “mind your manners!” kind of thing.

However, apparently if you do a google search, you will find there is a Buddhist twist on this term:

Mindfulness (Palisati,[1] Sanskritsmṛti; also translated as awareness) is a spiritual or psychological faculty (indriya) that, according to the teaching ofthe Buddha, is considered to be of great importance in the path to enlightenment. It is one of the seven factors of enlightenment. “Correct” or “right” mindfulness (Palisammā-satiSanskrit samyak-smṛti) is the seventh element of the noble eightfold path. (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mindfulness)

Regardless of how I feel about the term mindfulness or the Buddhist take on it, this is something that in this busy, crazy world is so easy to forget, so easy to toss aside to live in the here and now. THANKFULLY (yes I am getting to the grateful factor, finally), our Lord give us little things in life to inspire us to give life a quick second to step back and refocus on the important things. AND, stop to smell the roses.

Photo Jan 31, 21 46 27

Not just roses, because life is full of many more such blessings. I mean we’re able to live each day knowing it is a new one, all because Jesus died and payed for all my stupid human faults and mistakes. Each and every new day is so amazing to behold. Here are some of the my latest everyday surprise blessings… Though they seem to be but small events – like seeing your kitty cat again for the first time in a while…

Gracie!

Gracie!

or waking up to a gorgeous sunrise.

Photo Jan 13, 7 45 57

They all remind me of His gifts and heavenly promises!

  • Cups of hot coffee with pieces of dark chocolate
  • That moment where someone looks across the table at you and totally arrived at the same conclusion as you at the same time: yes, the patient does in fact have Rhabdo and Hyperaldosteronism
  • Devotional time with the hubby
  • Posting wedding photos on Facebook and getting an all-time-record-number of “likes”
  • The smell of delicious baked sweet potato as it comes out of the oven NOT BURNT THIS TIME!
mmm

Mmm

  • When you try on your lil sisters old prom dress and it fits!
  • A long facebook-message-story from your best friends
  • Lunch with the family at Panera (when I’m not working there anymore of course)
  • The warmth of your apartment when its 0F outside
  • Going out to grab a Guinness for a date-night just because

Maybe I do feel like doing something now 😉

3 thoughts on “Today I Don’t Feel Like Doin’ Aaaaanything

  1. anne says:

    Yummy sweet potatoes with ketchup! Becoming one of my favorites

  2. Monica Hetzner says:

    Beth you are such a good writer. You could write a devotion book. Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

  3. Liz Bier says:

    Yes, I agree!

Leave a Reply

